Weekend Edition – How to be a Confident Writer Plus Writing Tips and Good Reads

I have felt like this for a while. Not content with just saying that I’m a writer, because I would compare myself to the great writers of my time… Not conducive to growth or even appreciation of my craft.

I know better now.

Live to Write - Write to Live

“Confident Writer” … it’s not a phrase you hear much, is it?

pin confidenceEarlier this week, I wrote and published an off-the-cuff confession about my habit of downplaying (and even demeaning) my writing in front of others. It’s not something I’m proud of, but I’m glad I chose to share my weakness, because it turns out that I’m not alone. Many of you apparently have the same knee-jerk reaction to innocent questions (and even compliments) about your writing.

Anyway, there were some wonderful comments on the post and the conversation got me thinking.

Sara Foley, for instance, pointed out that, “We have this funny thing that being a writer means a) being paid for writing b) a certain type of writing.”

And, bluecarpaintedgreen noted that, “Admitting you’re working on fiction pieces is a form of vulnerability, as it can hint at hopes and dreams; it’s personal.”

Soul Writer (aka Renee Brooks)…

View original post 1,546 more words

Leave a Reply

